Why I am looking for a new book.

My new book, The Ghost Writer by John Harwood, is turning out to be a bit of a disappointment. The reviews I read said that it was reminiscent of Possession by A.S. Byatt, so I was all over it. It’s not really like Possession at all, from what I can tell. In fact, I have been so disappointed with the first few chapters that I checked the end . . . and I had already guessed it. I don’t even know all the characters yet and I had guessed it. I don’t think I’m going to finish it.

Now to find something else to read. I was hoping this one would keep me occupied for at least a week.

My weekend was kind of meh. I worked on Saturday, as did Mike. He also worked yesterday, so I did the grocery shopping for the week and made vegetable soup. Making soup is a very comforting thing. I enjoyed slicing all the vegetables and the smell of soup permeating our house all afternoon. It was nice to putter around the house, though, watching TV, working on my scrapbook, and eating soup. I even went to bed early (Mike didn’t get home until midnight). This morning it definitely didn’t seem like it should be Monday.

I haven’t really been feeling like myself the past few days. I have been really tired lately. Hopefully I will start feeling more like myself.

No Trackbacks

You can leave a trackback using this URL: http://throughaglass.net/archives/2004/08/23/why-i-am-looking-for-a-new-book/trackback/

6 Comments

  1. _steve

    May I recommend the Dune series??

    Posted 8/23/2004 at | Permalink
  2. mb

    “Stardust(by Neil Gaiman) is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story”

    It’s basically a book about a boy who falls for a girl and he wants to win her heart. She tells him she will love him only if he is willing to catch her a star, and so he goes out and tries to. Even if you end up hating it, at least the book is short(272 pages). πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t recommend all of his books for everybody based on certain content, but this one is pretty PG rated.

    Posted 8/23/2004 at | Permalink
  3. Realhoops

    Kari, please for the love of books listen to me. Give Wallace Stegner’s “Crossing To Safety” a try. I guarantee you won’t be disappointed. πŸ˜‰

    Posted 8/24/2004 at | Permalink
  4. The only one we have here in the library is large print. I hate large print! *sigh*

    Posted 8/24/2004 at | Permalink
  5. Anything by Keillor. πŸ™‚

    Posted 8/25/2004 at | Permalink
  6. Kari, I use the word “meh” ALL the time. I find it’s very useful.

    And I’m currently reading “The Time Traveler’s Wife” and I’m really enjoying it. If you’ve read it I could use some discussion, and if you haven’t, you should so you can discuss it with me!! πŸ˜€

    Posted 8/28/2004 at | Permalink

Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*